What I talk about when I talk about running

“What I talk about when I talk about Running” – Haruki Murakami
Start Date: Jan 24, 2015
Finish Date: Feb 13, 2015

1. I stop every day right at the point where I feel I an write more. Do that, and the next day’s work goes surprisingly smoothly. To keep ink going, you have to keep up the rhythm. This is the important thing for long term projects. Once you set the pace, the rest will follow.

2. Working late and getting up early every day is just not the sort of lifestyle I’m after. Or give me for stating the obvious, but the world is made up of all kinds of people. Other people have their own values to live by, and the same holds true with me. These difference give rise to disagreements, and the combination of these disagreements can give rise to even greater misunderstanding.

Me: It took me months to realize that my problem is just my problem. No other one else should worry about it.
Emotional hurt is the price a person has to pay in order to be independence.

3. All I do is keep on running in my own cozy, homemade void, my own nostalgic silence. And this is a pretty wonderful thing. No matter what anybody else says.

4. I’m the kind of person who has to totally commit to whatever I do. I just couldn’t do something clever like writing a novel while someone else ran the business. I had to give it everything I had. If I failed, I could accept that. But I knew that if I did things halfheartedly and they didn’t work out. I’d always have regrets.

5. A person doesn’t become a runner because someone recommends it. People basically become runners because they’re meant to be.

6. I think certain types of processes don’t follow for any variation. If you have to be part of that process, all you can do is transform – or perhaps distort – yourself through that persistent repetition, and make that process a part of your own personality.

7. Running everyday is a kind of lifeline for me, so I’m not going to lay off or quit just because I’m busy. If I used being busy as an excuse not to run, I’d never run again. I have only a few reasons to keep on running, and a truckload of them to quit. All I can do is keep those few reasons nicely polished.

8. Most runners run not because they want to live longer, but because they want to live life to the fullest. If you’re going to while away the years, it’s far better to live them with clear goals and fully alive than in a fog, and I believe running helps you do that. Exerting yourself to the fullest within your individual limits: that’s the essence of running, and a metaphor for life – and for me, for writing as well.

9. Pain seems to be a precondition for this kind of sport. If pain weren’t involved, who in the world would ever go to the trouble of taking part in sports like the triathlon or marathon, which demand such an investment of time and energy? It’s precisely because of the pain, precisely because we want to overcome that pain, that we can get the feeling, through this process, of really being alive – or at least a partial sense of it. Your quality of experience is based not on standards such as time or ranking, but on finally awakening to an awareness of the fluidity within action itself. If things go well, that is.

Leave a Reply

